Folk Fair

HI! Today I went to Folk Fair. It was awesome. Here is my story about it.

I had only been to the Wisconsin Folk Fair once. I was 3. [I live in Wisconsin.] It was 40$ to get in to Folk Fair. I stared at a helicopter  flying overhead. In Summer the popular State Fair takes place were Folk Fair is. When we got in I got a passport for 1$. We first went to the Welsh and Cornwall section.  After that we went to the Slovenian area.  Next, was the Romanian section. A little boy taught us about Romania. The last three were Italy, Latvia, and Czech Republic.  After we finished that row we got some food in the Arabic section. We had falafel, pita bread, hummus, dolmas, and tahini sauce. It was so good. I loved it. Then we went to the last row. We saw Historic Americans, Thai, Native Americas, Egyptian, Filipino, Burmese, Donauschwaben, and Polish. Then we watched Tasmanian, Czech, and Irish dancing. It was awesome. Then we ate dumplings and a cheese quesadilla. It was so delicious. We saw more dancing then. I then got a cinnamon sugar with butter crepe. I ate it while watching Turkish and Serbian dancing. Finally, I got two raspberry Kranzchens.  (Scroll down for pictures!)

Glossary

Hummus  Hummus is ground chick peas

Dolmas Dolmas is rice wrapped in grape leaves

Kranzchens are a butter cookie shaped like a flower with jelly inside

Your World Blogger,

Mara

My passport.

Czech Dancers

Czech Dancers

Making Crepes
Making Crepes

Dumplings

Dumplings

Dolmas, Falafel, Tahini Sauce, and hummus

Dolmas, Falafel, Tahini Sauce, and hummus

Desserts

Desserts

More Desserts

More Desserts

More Desserts

More Desserts

3 thoughts on “Folk Fair

  1. Your post makes me hungry….I think we’ll head down to the Folk Fair tomorrow! Thanks for this post. I forgotten that this is Folk Fair Weekend! Mrs. J

  2. You gave a very complete description of Folk Fair and I enjoyed reading it and looking at all the pictures. It reminded me of the times Grandpa and I used to go there. My sister and I loved those grape leave things; we called them sarma and you call them dolma; maybe it just depends on which country they are from. Anyway, I told your mom and dad that I wanted to hear all about Folk Fair on Thanksgiving but now I don’t have to—you gave a very complete account of your visit and I loved the photos.

Leave a Reply

