A Day At School: 5/16/16

Hello everyone! It’s Mara here, back with another A Day at School Post.  I hope you enjoy the post!

Math

Today, in math we worked on unit 7 lesson 3, in other words 7-3. We learned about the saying “Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally”, PEMDAS. PEMDAS, helps us with the Order of Operations, and what to do first in the Order of Operations. P = Parentheses, E = Exponents, M = Multiplication, D = Division, A = Addition, and S = Subtraction. Her is an example of an Order of Operations problem. 69 ÷ 3 × 8 − 2.  If you know the answer, please comment it below.

Science

In Science, we watched individual BrainPop Videos on the Human Body Systems. I watched a video about skin, the spinal cord, and joints. I scored 100% on each quiz I took for every video.

Health Class

We learned about health related things and watched a video. I have to admit,  I was thinking about summer break the whole health class.

Reading

We did MAP [Measures of Academic Progress] Testing. I got a really good score on the map test, in the 240’s! It was the best score I got on any MAP Test ever.

Advisor

In Advisor, we did DEW [Drop Everything and Write.] This is when we spend all of advisor writing a story on loose leaf. It can be any kind of writing you want. I wrote about everything I was going to do this summer and then we have to count everything we wrote up. I had 621 words!!!

Lunch and Recess

At lunch I had pounded chicken, Hershey Chocolate Kiss, String Cheese, Olives, and Cheez – It’s. Then at recess, my friend and I raced back and forth along the soccer field, then I went to swing with another friend.

Band

First off, in band our band teacher answered questions about the upcoming band concert on Thursday. Next, we played through all of the songs we were doing for the concert. We had 7 or so minutes left and it was such a nice day, our band teacher let us go play out in the parking lot. During the day, no cars move around in the parking lot so it is completely safe. We challenged one another to run across this gigantic puddle! I walked across, it wasn’t so deep. Well, I didn’t walk through the middle, and it could of been deeper there.

Music

Today, in music I worked on my piano piece, and completely mastered it. One of my friends and I played our songs back in forth. I’m doing Ode to Joy and she is doing Rockin’ Robin.

Social Studies

In, Social Studies we learned about the Preamble in our constitution. The Preamble is one long sentence in the beginning of our constitution.  The Preamble says the following “We the people of the United States, in order to form a more perfect union, establish justice, ensure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defense, promote the general  welfare, and secure the blessing of liberty to ourselves and are posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.” It’s a long sentence, right? We learned what all of it meant, though I forgot it now, because it is in my Social Studies Notebook at school.

English

We didn’t really have English class today. Instead we worked on speaking and memorizing our parts in “Walk Through History.” Walk Through History, is a movie that my 5th grade is making, to show what we learned about throughout social studies this year. I got the part as William Dawes, Paul Revere’s friend who shone the lanterns from the Old North Church in Boston, Massachusetts.

 

That, was my school day today, we only have 17 days left of school now! Hooray!

 

4 thoughts on “A Day At School: 5/16/16

  1. You sound super busy and super excited and you’re also a super girl. I’m here at a place called Dairy House Farm near Monnington on Wye, England Three dogs live here and they all greeted me with lots of barking but no biting. I will have a look around. Horses also live here. Maybe I can find them. I’ll send pictures. Love, Gma

  2. Mara Thank you for sharing your blog with my class. We are learning about how to write blogs in second grade. We just read your blog and noticed that we take the MAP test as well. Congratulations on your high score! My students want to know what school do you attend? and how did you get a 240 on your MAP test and stay focused for so long? (really they did ask that) I hope you respond because we are going to check tomorrow.

    Morris Brown College c/o Mrs. Miller

    • Dear Mrs. Miller,
      Well, when I’m doing a MAP Test I cross out all the wrong answers in my mind and either choose the remaining answer. If there is more than 1 answer left I figure out which one makes more sense. I hope this helped!
      – Mara

Leave a Reply

